A food manufacturer which makes hand-held street food and sells its products in over 3,500 stores in the UK and abroad has won the East Midlands Chamber* Leicestershire Business of the Year Award 2019.

Jake & Nayns’ has grown by over 33% in the past year, with even more ambitious plans for growth ahead having secured the next-door premises.

It continues to use its strong base in its market to explore new avenues – including making its acclaimed Naanster products more accessible, venturing into more international markets and expanding the range of products it offers.

Receiving the award from Mazars, the headline sponsor of the Chamber’s Business Awards 2019, Neeyantee Karia, Co-founder at Jake & Nayns’, said: “Thank you to the Chamber – I cannot believe we have won not just one award on the evening but two, it’s phenomenal.

“We entered the awards because our team has been right behind us in what has been a fantastic year for Jake & Nayns’; we simply couldn’t do it without them.”

The company was one of 13 to win an award on the night, as the Chamber celebrated the strength and successes of businesses across Leicester and Leicestershire.

To qualify as a contender for the supreme accolade of Business of the Year, Jake & Nayns’ had already won the Small Business of the Year award earlier in the evening.

Chamber President Kevin Harris added: “One of the main privileges of being Chamber President is being able to address and celebrate the crème de la crème of our region’s businesses at the Business Awards.

“Taking part in the Chamber’s Business Awards, the only local awards to offer winners the chance to go on to compete on a regional and national stage at the British Chambers of Commerce Awards, encourages an organisation to look closely at what they do best.

“Making it through to the final is cause for celebration in itself and whether you get that far or walk off with the ultimate crown, you should shout about that success and proclaim to the world that yours is one of the best businesses out there.”


Winners (in blue) and finalists:


Business Improvement through Technology – sponsored by Loughborough University

Clifton Packaging


The Pension Lab


Community Impact Award – sponsored by East Midlands Airport

Alex’s Wish

Hope Against Cancer

LOROS Hospice

Quiet Storm Solutions

Zinthiya Trust


Outstanding Growth Award – sponsored by Action Coach #TeamBrilliant

DHU Health Care

Edward Cooper Young Chartered Surveyors

Encore Personnel

Growth Partners



Business Venue of the Year – sponsored by Kudos Technology

Leicester Tigers

Meetpoint Midlands

Queen Victoria Arts Club


Commitment to People Development Award – sponsored by DMU Castle Business School

Duncan & Toplis

Edward Cooper Young Chartered Surveyors


Steps Conductive Education Centre



Apprentice of the Year – sponsored by emh Group

Lauren Roche – Creative62

James Cook – C.S. Ellis Group

Ben Burniston – Druck

Tom Scotcher – Druck

Kirsty White – Penny Price Aromatherapy


Entrepreneur of the Year – sponsored by Leicester Business Festival

Paul Bresnihan – Growth Partners

Lee Tomes – Orange Fox Studios

Ellie Dunmore – Penny Price Aromatherapy

Shiraz Sidat – Speedel

Cassandra Davison – Queen Victoria Arts Centre


Education and Business Partnership Award – sponsored by Blueprint Interiors

Leicestershire Cares

MIRA Technology Institute

Spark Academy


Excellence in Customer Service – sponsored by HSBC


Children’s Therapy Solutions

DHU Health Care

Ormerod Management Services

Reflex Vehicle Hire


Excellence in International Trade – sponsored by DHL


Happy Pet Products

Penny Price Aromatherapy


Small Business of the Year -sponsored by Morningside Pharmaceuticals

Advanced Industrial Engineering

Blueprint Interiors

Edward Cooper Young Chartered Surveyors

Jake and Nayns’

Growth Partners


Manufacturer of the Year – sponsored by Samworth Brothers




Sygnet Group


E-Commerce Business of the Year – sponsored by DHL

Lanka Kade UK


Shelton’s Coffee



Business of the Year – sponsored by Mazars

Jake and Nayns


Managed by

Funded by